Federal Programs

Title I

Title I of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) of 1965 addresses the education challenges facing high-poverty communities by targeting extra resources to schools and school districts with the highest concentrations of poverty. Putnam County currently has five Title I schools, each of which has a federally approved plan to close the achievement gap and bring all students to mastery. All Putnam County Title I schools are whole-school programs.

Title I Schools: Buffalo Elementary, Conner Street Elementary, Hometown Elementary, Lakeside Elementary, Poca Elementary and Rock Branch Elementary

Title I Parent Advisory Council meets once a quarter to plan county parent involvement activities, revise the parent involvement policy and parent surveys, and share ideas to increase parent involvement and improve parent trainings in Title I schools. The PAC Mission is to involve families, schools, and the community in the success of all children through active participation, clear understanding, communication, and adequate training.

Title III

Part A of Title III is officially known as the English Language Acquisition, Language Enhancement, and Academic Achievement Act. Title III is a part of the federal No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 proposed and signed into law by the George W. Bush Administration. It is specifically targeted to benefit Limited English Proficient (LEP) children and immigrant youth. The Act states that LEP students must not only attain English proficiency but simultaneously meet the same academic standards as their English-speaking peers in all content areas.

Contact Information

Elizabeth Hoh, Director

Nancy Joplin, Secretary